CSA announces women's squads for England tour

Mignon du Preez will continue to captain South Africa in both the ODIs and T20Is © ICC/Solaris Images

Mignon du Preez will lead 15-member ODI and T20I squads, after Cricket South Africa announced the women’s sides that will take on England at home later this month.

South Africa are scheduled to play three ODIs and three T20Is between February 7 and February 21, with the ODI matches forming part of the ICC Women’s Championship, the qualification tournament for the 2017 ICC Women’s World Cup in England. The T20 games will be played as joint double-headers, alongside the men’s T20I between Australia and South Africa.

South Africa last played an international match nearly 12 months ago, while they last hosted an international series in 2013.

“It is almost a year since our last fixture in the ICC Women’s Championship,” Hilton Moreeng, South Africa’s coach, said. “Our last tour at home was against Sri Lanka in 2013, where we did very well. Our preparation for the upcoming tour has been very good and the players are very excited, firstly to represent their country and second, to play against England.

“It won’t be an easy tour, due to the quality that the England team possess, but our players are confident and ready to take up the challenge. We still have everything to play for and both teams stand a good chance to improve on the current Championship standings.

“Playing in front of home crowds will be exciting and, at the same time motivating for the players to do well.”

South Africa are currently fourth in the Women’s Championship, with England in fifth position.

South Africa ODI squad: Mignon du Preez (captain), Trisha Chetty, Laura Wolfvaardt, Andrie Steyn, Marizanne Kapp, Dane van Niekerk, Lizelle Lee, Dinesha Devnarain, Chloe Tyron, Sune Luus, Shabnim Ismail, Masabatha Klaas, Ayabonga Khaka, Matshipi Marcia Letasoalo, Sinalo Jafta

South Africa T20 squad: Mignon du Preez (captain), Trisha Chetty, Lara Goodall, Moseline Daniels, Marizanne Kapp, Dane van Niekerk, Dinesha Devnarain, Chloe Tryon, Sune Luus, Shabnim Ismail, Masabatha Klaas, Ayabonga Khaka, Matshipi Marcia Letsoalo, Lizelle Lee, Yolani Fourie

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Source: ESPN Crickinfo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.