Bowlers, Faiz Fazal lead India A to title

India A 286 for 7 (Fazal 100, Vijay 69, Kulkarni 2-31) beat India B 199 (Binny 60, Nadeem 3-36) by 87 runs

File photo – Faiz Fazal’s century boosted India A to a match-winning total of 286 for 7 © PTI

A century from opening batsman Faiz Fazal and a collective effort from the bowling attack led India A to an 87-run triumph over India B in the Deodhar Trophy final in Kanpur.

Fazal paired with M Vijay for a first-wicket partnership of 162 after India had opted to bat, setting the base for a competitive total. The pair batted out 31.2 overs in their partnership, playing through a slow start before accelerating. Nathu Singh broke the partnership getting Vijay out in the 32nd over for a 91-ball 69, which included three fours and three sixes.

Fazal, who was batting on 86 at the time, reached his fifth List A century five overs later, getting to the landmark through a six over long-off. His run-out off the next ball, however, meant that India A had lost their top three for 25 runs within five overs. Kedar Jadhav then steered the last leg of India A’s innings, striking four fours and two sixes in his unbeaten 39-ball 58 which took the team’s total to 286 for 7.

India B’s chase had threatened to unravel early as S Aravind and Krishna Das carved out the top order to leave the side reeling at 40 for 4 by the 11th over. That score soon changed to 54 for 5 with Dinesh Karthik’s dismissal but Suryakumar Yadav and Stuart Binny kept the India A attack at bay with a 62-run partnership for the sixth wicket, which eventually helped take the team total to 199. Binny was involved in another half-century stand – 50 runs with Karn Sharma for the eighth wicket – before his dismissal in the 41st over sealed the match for India A. The allrounder struck seven fours in his 73-ball 60 before he fell to Shahbaz Nadeem who finished with returns of 3 for 36.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Source: ESPN Crickinfo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.