Australia play three debutants and bowl

Toss: Australia chose to bowl v India
Live scorecard and ball-by-ball details

John Hastings is one of three T20I debutants in Australia’s line-up © Getty Images

Australia’s captain Aaron Finch has sent india in to bat in the second Twenty20 match of the series at the MCG.

The hosts are without David Warner and Steven Smith, who are both departing on Saturday for the looming tour of New Zealand, while Travis Head, Cameron Boyce, Shaun Tait and Kane Richardson have been dropped.

In their places are Shaun Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, John Hastings, Scott Boland, Andrew Tye and Nathan Lyon. Hastings, Lyon and Tye are making their T20I debuts as the selectors experiment ahead of the World T20 in India.

India by contrast are unchanged, and will be eager to pressure Australia’s batsmen into error once more at the MCG, albeit on a damp and overcast night that may be good for pace bowling.

Australia 1 Aaron Finch (capt), 2 Shaun Marsh 3 Chris Lynn, 4 Glenn Maxwell, 5 Shane Watson, 6 Matthew Wade (wk), 7 James Faulkner, 8 John Hastings, 9 Scott Boland, 10 Aaron Tye, 11 Nathan Lyon

India 1 Shikhar Dhawan, 2 Rohit Sharma, 3 Suresh Raina, 4 Virat Kohli, 5 MS Dhoni (capt. & wk), 6 Yuvraj Singh, 7 Hardik Pandya, 8 Ravindra Jadeja, 9 R Ashwin, 10 Jasprit Bumrah, 11 Ashish Nehra

Daniel Brettig is an assistant editor at ESPNcricinfo. @danbrettig

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Source: ESPN Crickinfo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.