Sri Lanka name Angelo Mathews in T20I squad for India series

Angelo Mathews has been named in Sri Lanka’s squad for the T20I series against India starting from January 5, and could play his first T20I in nearly 16 months if picked in the XI. Mathews last played in this format for Sri Lanka as captain, in a one-off match against South Africa in August 2018. August 2018 also happens to be the last time Mathews played T20s of any kind at recognised level.

Mathews’ career has infamously been stop-start due to recurring injuries, but he has been something of a regular in Tests and ODIs for Sri Lanka over the last year or so, playing as a specialist batsman rarely bowling. That makes him one of seven specialist batting options in the 16-man squad named for the tour.

Fast bowler Nuwan Pradeep, who played in Sri Lanka’s last T20I series against Australia in November, is out injured and has been replaced by Kasun Rajitha. Shehan Jayasuriya misses out from that squad, and allrounder Dhananjaya de Silva is the other addition apart from Mathews.

Squad 1 Lasith Malinga (capt.), 2 Danushka Gunathilaka, 3 Avishka Fernando, 4 Angelo Mathews, 5 Dasun Shanaka, 6 Kusal Perera, 7 Niroshan Dickwella, 8 Dhananjaya de Silva, 9 Isuru Udana, 10 Bhanuka Rajapaksa, 11 Oshada Fernando, 12 Wanindu Hasaranga, 13 Lahiru Kumara, 14 Kusal Mendis, 15 Lakshan Sandakan, 16 Kasun Rajitha

Source: ESPN Crickinfo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.