Unchanged Daredevils bowl; Ngidi debuts for CSK

Delhi Daredevils elect to bowl v Chennai Super Kings
Live scorecard and ball-by-ball details

Shreyas Iyer called correctly as unchanged Delhi Daredevils elected to bowl at the MCA Stadium in Pune. This meant Gautam Gambhir, who relinquished the captaincy last week, continued to sit out.

Chennai Super Kings rung in four changes. Among those were KM Asif, the 24-year old Kerala fast bowler, who was handed a debut along with South Africa’s Lungi Ngidi.

Asif, acquired for INR 40 lakhs at the auction, impressed with his ability to bowl upwards of 140kph in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy, India’s domestic T20 competition in January. Ngidi who was with the squad for the first two weeks returned two days ago after a short trip back home for his father’s funeral.

Karn Sharma, the legspinner, was named a like-for-like replacement for Imran Tahir, while Faf du Plessis was set to slot into the middle order in place of Sam Billings. Deepak Chahar, the uncapped fast bowler, is missing out due to an injury.

With five wins in seven matches, CSK are currently placed second while Daredevils continue to scrap the bottom despite a morale-boosting 55-run win over Kolkata Knight Riders. They currently have two wins in seven matches.

Chennai Super Kings: 1 Shane Watson, 2 Ambati Rayudu, 3 Suresh Raina, 4 Faf du Plessis, 5 MS Dhoni (capt, wk), 6 Ravindra Jadeja, 7 Dwayne Bravo, 8 Karn Sharma, 9 Harbhajan Singh, 10 Lungi Ngidi, 11 KM Asif

Delhi Daredevils: 1 Prithvi Shaw, 2 Colin Munro, 3 Shreyas Iyer (capt), 4 Rishabh Pant (wk), 5 Glenn Maxwell, 6 Vijay Shankar, 7 Rahul Tewatia, 8 Liam Plunkett, 9 Amit Mishra, 10 Avesh Khan, 11 Trent Boult

Source: ESPN Crickinfo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.