Du Plessis, Steyn in full-strength SA Test squad

Know your opponent: AB de Villiers (6:07)

Ajit Agarkar and Aakash Chopra discuss how India can break through the defences of AB de Villiers (6:07)

Dale Steyn, who was ill during the Boxing Day Test, joins a formidable pack of fast bowlers in the South African squad picked to play India in the New Year’s Test. Allrounder Chris Morris has recovered from a groin injury to be part of the 15-member squad which will assemble in Cape Town on Tuesday.

Faf du Plessis, who could not play against Zimbabwe earlier this week due to a viral infection, will take back the captaincy from AB de Villiers. Frontline wicketkeeper Quinton de Kock has also recovered from a hamstring strain and is expected to play the New Year’s Test on January 5.

South Africa squad: Faf du Plessis (capt), Hashim Amla, Temba Bavuma, Quinton de Kock, Theunis de Bruyn, AB de Villiers, Dean Elgar, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, Morne Morkel, Chris Morris, Andile Phehlukwayo, Vernon Philander, Kagiso Rabada, Dale Steyn

More to follow

Source: ESPN Crickinfo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.