West Indies bowl; Raymon Reifer debuts

Toss West Indies chose to bowl against New Zealand

West Indies’ stand-in captain Kraigg Brathwaite won the toss and chose to bowl on a green Seddon Park pitch expected to offer pace, bounce and movement to the fast bowlers. Brathwaite is filling in for Jason Holder, who is suspended due to slow over rates in the previous Test.

There were no major surprises in the playing XI for either team. Raymon Reifer, the 26-year old Bajan left-arm quick, debuts for West Indies, replacing Holder. The visitors are otherwise unchanged.

New Zealand, too, have only made one change, bringing the fit-again Tim Southee into the attack in place of Matt Henry. Tom Blundell continues to keep wicket, with BJ Watling not yet ready to return to Test cricket.

The forecast is for good weather on Saturday, but rain may arrive over the next two days.

New Zealand: 1 Jeet Raval, 2 Tom Latham, 3 Kane Williamson (capt), 4 Ross Taylor, 5 Henry Nicholls, 6 Mitchell Santner, 7 Colin de Grandhomme, 8 Tom Blundell (wk), 9 Tim Southee, 10 Neil Wagner, 11 Trent Boult

West Indies: 1 Kraigg Brathwaite (capt) 2 Kieran Powell, 3 Shimron Hetmeyer, 4 Shai Hope, 5 Roston Chase, 6 Sunil Ambris, 7 Shane Dowrich (wk), 8 Raymon Reifer, 9 Kemar Roach, 10 Miguel Cummins, 11 Shannon Gabriel

Source: ESPN Crickinfo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.