Unchanged Sri Lanka bat, Shami out with niggle

Sri Lanka chose to bat v India
Live scorecard and ball-by-ball details

Play 04:48

Dasgupta: Rohit doesn’t fit if India play five bowlers

Sri Lanka won their second toss of the series and decided to bat first on what both captains reckoned was a good Test pitch with a little bit of assistance expected for quicks early before the spinners take over in the second innings. Sri Lanka didn’t make any changes to their XI, which meant the unimpressive Lahiru Gamage got another game and the impressive Dasun Shanaka was entrusted with the role of the fifth bowler and a lower-order batsman.

India made three changes to their XI, two that could have been predicted and one forced on them. Mohammed Shami sat out with a hip niggle, making way for Ishant Sharma. M Vijay expectedly replaced Shikhar Dhawan, who is away for personal reasons. Rohit Sharma finally got back in as India realised they could need him in South Africa, accordingly giving him some game time.

Sri Lanka 1 Dimuth Karunaratne, 2 Sadeera Samarawickrama, 3 Lahiru Thirimanne, 4 Dinesh Chandimal (capt.), 5 Angelo Mathews, 6 Niroshan Dickwella (wk), 7 Dasun Shanaka ,8 Dilruwan Perera, 9 Suranga Lakmal, Rangana Herath, 11 Lahiru Gamage

India 1 M Vijay, 2 KL Rahul, 3 Cheteshwar Pujara, 4 Virat Kohli (capt.), 5 Ajinkya Rahane, 6 /Rohit Sharma, 7 R Ashwin, 8 Wriddhiman Saha (wk), 9 Ravindra Jadeja, 10 Ishant Sharma, 11 Umesh Yadav.

Sidharth Monga is an assistant editor at ESPNcricinfo

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Source: ESPN Crickinfo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.