Mendis, Kaushal Silva and Pradeep left out of India tour

© Associated Press

Batsmen Kusal Mendis and Kaushal Silva, and seamer Nuwan Pradeep have been omitted from Sri Lanka’s squad for the three-Test series in India. Instead, allrounders Dhananjaya de Silva and Dasun Shanaka have been named in the 15-member group. Angelo Mathews, who had been declared fit last week, also features in the squad.

Last week SLC CEO Ashley de Silva had said that allrounder Asela Gunaratne and batsman Kusal Perera, who have both recently recovered from injury, would also be “considered for selection for the Indian series”, but they weren’t part of the squad.

Dhananjaya and Shanaka were rewarded for their performances for Sri Lanka A in the Caribbean last month. Dhananjaya, who had led Sri Lanka A to a 2-1 series win in the unofficial Tests, finished as the top scorer for the team with 260 runs at an average of 52. Shanaka was the second-highest scorer for the side with 183 runs in two matches at an average of 61.

Squad: Dinesh Chandimal (captain), Dimuth Karunaratne, Dhananjaya de Silva, Sadeera Samarawickrema, Angelo Mathews, Lahiru Thirimanne, Rangana Herath, Suranga Lakmal, Dilruwan Perera, Lahiru Gamage, Lakshan Sandakan, Vishwa Fernando, Dasun Shanaka, Niroshan Dickwella (wk), Roshen Silva

In Dhananjaya de Silva, Dasun Shanaka, Angelo Mathews

Out Kusal Mendis, Kaushal Silva, Nuwan Pradeep

More to follow…

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Source: ESPN Crickinfo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.