Nazmul Hassan set to be re-elected BCB president

Nazmul Hassan is set to serve a second term as BCB president after no other candidates emerged for the post. The board directors will hold a meeting on Wednesday, in which they will confirm Hassan as the president after Naimur Rahman, Alamgir Khan and Syed Ashfaqul Islam won elections of their segments on Tuesday.

“We will be sitting for our president’s election tomorrow,” Hassan said. “Every board director wants me as the president. I am the only candidate for presidency, so if there aren’t any more nominations, I will be become the president again.”

With 22 out of the 25 directors’ posts already taken without any contest, polls were mandatory only for two places in the Dhaka region and one in Barisal. Naimur (Manikganj) and Ashfaqul (Kishoreganj) got 13 votes each against two other councillors Tanvir Ahmed Titu (Narayanganj) and Shahinul Islam Bhuiyan (Narsingdi).

Naimur was the BCB’s cricket operations chairman for two years before he was replaced by Akram Khan after a fall-out with Chandika Hathurusingha.

Alamgir, a veteran organiser in Barisal, beat MA Awwal Chowdhury by five votes to two. Chowdhury was a BCB director between 2013 and 2017, serving as the chairman of the women’s wing. Alamgir and Ashfaqul are first-time BCB directors.

Source: ESPN Crickinfo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.