New Zealand bat, India bring in Axar for Kuldeep

Toss: New Zealand chose to bat v India
Live scorecard and ball-by-ball details

Kane Williamson, the New Zealand captain, has chosen to bat first in the second ODI at the MCA Stadium. Virat Kohli, the India captain, said he would have preferred to bowl first anyway, contending that the pitch in Pune tends to start slow and become better to bat on in the evening.

The match is going ahead as scheduled, on the surface originally prepared for the match, despite the controversy surrounding Pandurang Salgaoncar, the suspended Maharashtra Cricket Association curator, who was captured in a news channel sting operation allegedly promising to manipulate the pitch. Chris Broad, the ICC match referee, inspected the pitch along with the umpires 15 minutes before the toss.

New Zealand, who won the first ODI by six wickets, named an unchanged XI. India made one change to their spin attack, with the left-arm fingerspinner Axar Patel replacing the left-arm wristspinner Kuldeep Yadav.

New Zealand: 1 Martin Guptill, 2 Colin Munro, 3 Kane Williamson (capt), 4 Ross Taylor, 5 Tom Latham (wk), 6 Henry Nicholls, 7 Colin de Grandhomme, 8 Mitchell Santner, 9 Adam Milne, 10 Trent Boult, 11 Tim Southee.

India: 1 Rohit Sharma, 2 Shikhar Dhawan, 3 Virat Kohli (capt), 4 Kedar Jadhav, 5 Dinesh Karthik, 6 MS Dhoni(wk), 7 Hardik Pandya, 8 Axar Patel, 9 Bhuvneshwar Kumar, 10 Yuzvendra Chahal, 11 Jasprit Bumrah.

Source: ESPN Crickinfo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.