Khaled Mahmud, Akram Khan set to continue as BCB directors

Former Bangladesh captains Khaled Mahmud and Akram Khan will continue as BCB directors after they, and six others, went unopposed as nominees for the October 31 election. The same cannot be said about Naimur Rahman who, at this stage, is among five nominees for the two directors’ posts from the Dhaka regional and district associations.

Some withdrawals, however, are likely to take place in this segment on October 29, the deadline day for withdrawals and final nominations list to be published by the election commission. There are also two nominees for the single director’s post for the Barisal region, with MA Awwal Chowdhury and Alamgir Khan pitted against each other.

Mahmud was the only one to submit nomination papers in category-3, under which he is a councillor as a BCB-nominated former cricketer. Akram represents the Chittagong divisional sports association. Both were BCB directors in the 2013 to 2017 period.

In fact, the six others who also submitted nomination papers from their respective regions were board directors previously. They are Sheikh Sohel and Kazi Inam Ahmed (Khulna), Shafiul Alam Chowdhury (Sylhet), Anwarul Islam (Rangpur), AJM Nasiruddin (Chittagong) and Saiful Alam Swapan (Rajshahi).

Fourteen councillors have filed nominations for the 12 directors’ posts in the Dhaka metropolitan club category although it is likely that the National Sports Council will select two from this category as their picks for automatic directors’ position. It would mean the 12 other nominations in this category would also become board directors uncontested, as all of them were directors in the previous board.

There are two vacancies from the previous board of directors: Nazmul Karim Tinku passed away earlier this year while Ahmed Iqbal Hasan is not participating in the elections this year.

Source: ESPN Crickinfo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.