Bangladesh opt to bowl first, Tamim returns

Toss Bangladesh chose to bowl v South Africa
Scorecard and ball-by-ball details

Bangladesh captain Mashrafe Mortaza decided to bowl first against South Africa in the second ODI in Paarl, in a bid to take advantage of a fresh pitch which he expects will help the batsmen as the game goes on.

There was good news for Bangladesh with the return of Tamim Iqbal, who recovered sufficiently from muscle strain. The senior batsman replaced allrounder Mohammad Saifuddin. For the home side, Farhaan Behardien replaced David Miller.

The visitors would look to bounce back from a ten-wicket thrashing in the first ODI in Kimberley, where Quinton de Kock and Hashim Amla struck centuries and shared the highest unbroken opening stand in a chase to down a target of 279.

South Africa: 1 Quinton de Kock (wk), 2 Hashim Amla, 3 Faf du Plessis (capt), 4 AB de Villiers, 5 Farhaan Behardien, 6 JP Duminy, 7 Dwaine Pretorius, 8 Andile Phehlukwayo, 9 Kagiso Rabada, 10 Dane Paterson, 11 Imran Tahir

Bangladesh: 1 Tamim Iqbal, 2 Imrul Kayes, 3 Liton Das (wk), 4 Shakib Al Hasan, 5 Mushfiqur Rahim, 6 Mahmudullah, 7 Sabbir Rahman, 8 Nasir Hossain, 9 Mashrafe Mortaza (capt), 10 Taskin Ahmed, 11 Rubel Hossain

Source: ESPN Crickinfo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.