Zimbabwe to host World Cup qualifier in March 2018

How West Indies can qualify for the 2019 World Cup (2:18)

Having fallen out of the top eight in the ODI rankings, they failed to qualify automatically, but the Windies still have a chance to make it via next year’s Qualifiers (2:18)

The search for the final two teams in the 2019 World Cup will begin in Zimbabwe in March 2018, after the country was announced the host of the qualifying tournament. West Indies will be among the countries taking part in this competition, having failed to gain direct entry into the showpiece event. They will be joined by the bottom-three ranked ODI nations – Zimbabwe, Afghanistan and Ireland – the top four sides from the ICC World Cricket League Championship and the top two from the ICC World Cricket League Division 2.

Originally, Bangladesh were scheduled to host the qualifiers. But with their gaining direct entry, finishing in the top eight of the ICC ODI rankings on deadline day, September 30, Zimbabwe put themselves up for consideration. The ICC inspected the facilities about a month ago and it is understood that alongside the two regular international venues – Harare Sports Club and Queens Sports Club – the grounds at Takashinga, Bulawayo Athletic Club and in Kwe-Kwe will be used for the tournament.

The World Cricket League Championship is already underway, with all participants having played more than 10 matches each. Netherlands are leading the points table, with eight wins. Papua New Guinea are second, Scotland third and Hong Kong fourth.

Source: ESPN Crickinfo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.