England bowl first, bring in Ball for Rashid

England won the toss and decided to bowl against Bangladesh
Live scorecard and ball-by-ball details

Play 01:35

‘On our day, we can beat anybody’ – Mashrafe

England captain Eoin Morgan decided to field first in their Champions Trophy opener against Bangladesh at The Oval.

In a late change, England brought in an extra pace bowler, Jake Ball, at the expense of legspinner Adil Rashid who has been a key part of England’s one-day side since the last World Cup although Morgan said the change had nothing to do with Ben Stokes’ bowling concerns.

Stokes came through a morning fitness test on his knee and was cleared to bowl, although his workload remained a little uncertain.

As confirmed yesterday, Jason Roy retained his place at the top of the order despite his lean run which meant the out-of-form Jonny Bairstow could not make the XI.

Bangladesh, meanwhile, decided to shuffle their batting line-up by picking Imrul Kayes at No. 3, which sent Sabbir Rahman down to the middle order. They haven’t selected either Mehedi Hasan or Sunzamul Islam, instead picking eight batsmen – something that they often do when feeling under pressure.

England 1 Jason Roy, 2 Alex Hales, 3 Joe Root, 4 Eoin Morgan (capt), 5 Ben Stokes, 6 Jos Buttler (wk), 7 Moeen Ali, 8 Chris Woakes, 9 Liam Plunkett, 10 Jake Ball, 11 Mark Wood

1 Tamim Iqbal, 2 Soumya Sarkar, 3 Imrul Kayes, 4 Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), 5 Mahmudullah, 6 Shakib Al Hasan, 7 Sabbir Rahman, 8 Mosaddek Hossain, 9 Mashrafe Mortaza (capt), 10 Rubel Hossain, 11 Mustafizur Rahman

Mohammad Isam is ESPNcricinfo’s Bangladesh correspondent. @isam84

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Source: ESPN Crickinfo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.