SA make three changes and bowl; Woakes out with niggle

South Africa won the toss and decided to bowl against England
Live scorecard and ball-by-ball details

Ben Stokes was fit, but Chris Woakes sat out for England with a niggle © Getty Images

South Africa’s captain AB de Villiers won the toss and chose to insert England for the second match running on an overcast morning in Southampton. South Africa made three changes to their XI, as they look to level the three-match series, while Ben Stokes retained his place for England despite concerns over a knee injury.

Left-arm spinner Keshav Maharaj was given an ODI debut in place of Imran Tahir, while Dwaine Pretorius and Farhaan Behardien also came into the side, with Wayne Parnell and JP Duminy making way. Again there was no room for Morne Morkel.

England also made a change from the first match, but it was Chris Woakes – suffering from a tight quad – rather than Stokes who was rested. Jake Ball was the replacement, with England hoping to seal the series and extend their winning sequence to eight ODIs in front of a sellout crowd at the Ageas Bowl.

The forecast is for the day to brighten up and South Africa will hope to better exploit the conditions after falling well short in the opening match at Heaidngley.

England 1 Jason Roy, 2 Alex Hales, 3 Joe Root, 4 Eoin Morgan (capt), 5 Ben Stokes, 6 Jos Buttler (wk), 7 Moeen Ali, 8 Adil Rashid, 9 Liam Plunkett, 10 Mark Wood, 11 Jake Ball

South Africa 1 Quinton de Kock (wk), 2 Hashim Amla, 3 Faf du Plessis, 4 AB de Villiers (capt), 5 David Miller, 6 Farhann Behardien, 7 Chris Morris, 8 Andile Phehlukwayo, 9 Dwaine Pretorius, 9 Kagiso Rabada, 11 Keshav Maharaj

Alan Gardner is an assistant editor at ESPNcricinfo. @alanroderick

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Source: ESPN Crickinfo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.