England to open Women's World Cup at home against India

Play 04:08

No ‘sweetheart’ deal – Knight on sexist sledges

Hosts England will open the Women’s World Cup against India in Derby on June 24, while defending champions Australia will begin two days later against World T20 champions West Indies in Taunton, with the ICC expecting “unprecedented” support for the tournament.

New Zealand and Sri Lanka will also be in action on the opening day of the month-long tournament. A round-robin group stage will be followed by semi-finals in Bristol and Derby before the final at Lord’s on July 23. It will be the first time the final will be staged at Lord’s since 1993 when England beat New Zealand by 67 runs.

There will be two weekend days when all eight teams will be in action. On Sunday, July 2, the four matches include the Trans-Tasman clash between Australia and New Zealand and India facing Pakistan. Saturday, July 15, will see all eight playing again as the round-robin stage comes to an end.

Tickets for the group matches will go on sale at 12pm GMT on March 8 – International Women’s Day – with adult prices start at £10 and £5 for students (aged 17-23) and £2 for Under-16s. Tickets for the semi-finals start £15 for adults while the final begins at £30, with a silver band of tickets at £20 then students at £10 and Under-16s £5.

“We are anticipating an exciting tournament and I know the players are looking forward to competing here in front of unprecedented levels of support,” David Richardson, the ICC chief executive, said. “We’ve already sold 9000 tickets for the final at Lord’s which bodes well for the rest of the event going on sale today. I know we can always count on the British sport loving public to support big events.”

India, Pakistan, South Africa and Sri Lanka secured their places at the World Cup through the recent qualifying event in Sri Lanka.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Source: ESPN Crickinfo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.