Bangladesh bat, Shuvagata replaces Shafiul

Toss Bangladesh won the toss and chose to bat v England
Live scorecard and ball-by-ball details

Play 01:08

Mushfiqur Rahim set to play in 50th Test

Mushfiqur Rahim won the toss in his 50th Test and decided to bat first against England in Mirpur. Bangladesh had already elected to go with four spinners for the second Test – Shuvagata Hom taking the place vacated by Shafiul Islam – on a dry surface that was expected to turn.

“Batting wise it will be a bit easier than Chittagong and hopefully we will put up a big score,” Mushfiqur said. Of his achievement in becoming the third Bangladeshi to play 50 Tests, he said: “It’s been a long journey, 11 years.”

England had already confirmed two changes to the team that won a nail-biting first Test by 22 runs in Chittagong, Zafar Ansari making his debut and Steven Finn replacing the rested Stuart Broad, who had to wait to make his 100th Test appearance.

Ansari, who has played one ODI previously, was handed his cap by Mark Ramprakash – a former team-mate at Surrey – in the huddle beforehand. His inclusion at Gareth Batty’s expense was in part aimed at giving him an opportunity ahead of five Tests in India but Alastair Cook said he was confident that rotation had not weaked his hand.

“We never pick a team we think is going to lose,” Cook said. “The guys are extremely good players coming in.”

There was heavy rainfall in Dhaka the day before the start of the Test, with more forecast, but conditions were dry enough to get underway on time on Friday morning.

Bangladesh 1 Tamim Iqbal, 2 Imrul Kayes, 3 Mominul Haque, 4 Mahmudullah, 5 Shakib Al Hasan, 6 Mushfiqur Rahim (capt/wk), 7 Sabbir Rahman, 8 Shuvagata Hom, 9 Mehedi Hasan, 10 Taijul Islam, 11 Kamrul Islam Rabbi

England 1 Alastair Cook (capt), 2 Ben Duckett, 3 Joe Root, 4 Gary Ballance, 5 Ben Stokes, 6 Jonny Bairstow (wk), 7 Moeen Ali, 8 Zafar Ansari, 9 Chris Woakes, 10 Adil Rashid, 11 Steven Finn

Alan Gardner is an assistant editor at ESPNcricinfo. @alanroderick

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Source: ESPN Crickinfo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.