Mumbai bowl; Tahir replaces Brathwaite for Darevdevils

Delhi Daredevils v Mumbai Indians, IPL 2016, Delhi April 23, 2016

The Report by Sirish Raghavan

Toss Mumbai Indians chose to bowl v Delhi Daredevils
Live scorecard and ball-by-ball details

South African legspinner Imran Tahir was brought in for West Indies allrounder Carlos Brathwaite © Delhi Daredevils

Mumbai Indians captain Rohit Sharma won the toss and opted to field on a hot afternoon at Delhi’s Feroz Shah Kotla.

While Mumbai are playing an unchanged team, Delhi Daredevils brought in legspinner Imran Tahir for fast-bowling allrounder Carlos Brathwaite. This means Daredevils go into the match with seven frontline bowling options, including the part-time offspin of JP Duminy. It also means all four of Daredevils’ overseas players were South Africans.

When asked why he chose to field, Rohit mentioned the pitch looked dry and might play better under lights. But he also noted that the afternoon heat would be a challenge for his bowlers.

Delhi Daredevils 1 Quinton de Kock (wk), 2 Shreyas Iyer, 3 Sanju Samson, 4 JP Duminy, 5 Karun Nair, 6 Pawan Negi, 7 Chris Morris, 8 Mohammad Shami, 9 Imran Tahir, 10 Zaheer Khan (capt), 11 Amit Mishra

Mumbai Indians 1 Rohit Sharma (capt), 2 Parthiv Patel (wk), 3 Ambati Rayudu, 4 Jos Buttler, 5 Kieron Pollard, 6 Hardik Pandya, 7 Krunal Pandya, 8 Harbhajan Singh, 9 Tim Southee, 10 Mitchell McClenaghan, 11 Jasprit Bumrah

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Source: ESPN Crickinfo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.