Sunrisers bowl, Guptill makes IPL debut

Toss Sunrisers Hyderabad chose to bowl v Mumbai Indians
Live scorecard and ball-by-ball details

Martin Guptill came into Mumbai Indians’ line-up in place of Kieron Pollard © Getty Images

David Warner, the Sunrisers Hyderabad captain, chose to bowl against Mumbai Indians, hoping to exploit any early help available from a grassy surface at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium. Rohit Sharma, the Mumbai captain, said he would have bowled too.

Mumbai made one change to the team that lost against Gujarat Lions, handing Martin Guptill an IPL debut in place of Kieron Pollard, who was ruled out with food poisoning. Guptill had replaced the injured Lendl Simmons in Mumbai’s squad.

Sunrisers also made one change, with the left-arm spinner Bipul Sharma replacing the legspinner Karn Sharma.

Both teams are looking to recover from slow starts to the season. Sunrisers have played two games so far and lost both, while Mumbai have won only one of their three matches.

Sunrisers Hyderabad: 1 David Warner (capt), 2 Shikhar Dhawan, 3 Moises Henriques, 4 Eoin Morgan, 5 Deepak Hooda, 6 Naman Ojha (wk), 7 Ashish Reddy, 8 Bipul Sharma, 9 Bhuvneshwar Kumar, 10 Mustafizur Rahman, 11 Barinder Sran

Mumbai Indians: 1 Rohit Sharma (capt), 2 Martin Guptill, 3 Hardik Pandya, 4 Jos Buttler, 5 Ambati Rayudu, 6 Parthiv Patel (wk), 7 Harbhajan Singh, 8 Krunal Pandya, 9 Tim Southee, 10 Mitchell McClenaghan, 11 Jasprit Bumrah

Karthik Krishnaswamy is a senior sub-editor at ESPNcricinfo

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Source: ESPN Crickinfo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *