KKR bowl; Brathwaite debuts for Daredevils

Toss Kolkata Knight Riders opt to bowl v Delhi Daredevils
Live scorecard and ball-by-ball details

Carlos Brathwaite was handed his IPL debut by Delhi Daredevils © Hindustan Times

Kolkata Knight Riders captain Gautam Gambhir won the toss and opted to bowl against Delhi Daredevils on a pitch with a tinge of grass.

Knight Riders handed Colin Munro, who shellacked the second-fastest T20 international half-century, off 14 deliveries against Sri Lanka in January, his IPL debut. Brad Hogg, 45, took the place of Sunil Narine, who had returned home following the death of his father. Allrounder Andre Russell and fast bowler John Hastings filled up Knight Riders’ overseas quota.

Allrounder Carlos Brathwaite who went 6,6,6,6 to seal West Indies’ second World T20 title at this venue last Sunday made his IPL debut for Daredevils. Chris Morris and Nathan Coulter Nile added hustle to the bowling line-up while JP Duminy, who had recovered from injury was overlooked. Daredevils went in with only four specialist batsman to add to wicketkeeper batsman Quinton de Kock.

Kolkata Knight Riders 1 Gautam Gambhir (capt), 2 Robin Uthappa (wk), 3 Manish Pandey 4 Colin Munro, 5 Yusuf Pathan, 6 Suryakumar Yadav, 7 Andre Russell, 8 Brad Hogg, 9 Piyush Chawla, 10 John Hastings, 11 Umesh Yadav

Delhi Dardedevils 1 Mayank Agarwal, 2 Quinton de Kock (wk), 3 Shreyas Iyer 4 Karun Nair, 5 Sanji Samson 6 Carlos Brathwaite 7 Pawan Negi, 8 Chris Morris 9 Zaheer Khan (capt), 10 Amit Mishra 11 Nathan Coulter Nile

Deivarayan Muthu is a sub-editor at ESPNcricinfo

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Source: ESPN Crickinfo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.