Unchanged Australia Women opt to bat in final

Australia Women chose to bat v West Indies Women
Scorecard and ball-by-ball details

Australia Women lost just one game in the group stages, to New Zealand Women in Nagpur © IDI/Getty Images

Meg Lanning won the toss on a humid day as an unchanged Australia Women opted to bat in the grand finale of the World Twenty20 at Eden Gardens in Kolkata.

Australia, who are eyeing their fourth successive World T20 title, head into the game with an impressive 8-0 head-to-head record over West Indies Women, for whom this is a maiden appearance in the summit clash.

This will be the first game in over a week at Eden Gardens, and Lanning said the fresh surface looked to be a belter. “It has an even covering of grass, hope that means the ball will carry through nicely,” Lanning reasoned. “It is nice to have played in big games before, but the past doesn’t matter. Whoever adapts quickly will have the best crack at it [winning the title].

Stafanie Taylor, Lanning’s opposite number, also announced the same line-up that did duty in their six-run win over New Zealand Women in a tense semi-final in Mumbai. “We were looking to bat first too,” Taylor said. “The wicket did surprise us, with the grass here but it could be deceiving, so we’re not too worried. We are excited, today could be a very special day for West Indies.”

Lanning, who also led Australia to the title in 2014, insisted a tough semi-final clash against England had ensured best-possible preparation. “That was one of the toughest games I have played in,” she said. “West Indies would pose a similar challenge, no doubt. We have three hours of hard work ahead of us.”

Australia Women: Alyssa Healy (wk), Elyse Villani, Meg Lanning (capt), Ellyse Perry, Alex Blackwell, Jess Jonassen, Beth Mooney, Erin Osborne, Megan Schutt, Rene Farrell, Kristen Beams

West Indies Women: Hayley Matthews, Stafanie Taylor (capt), Britney Cooper, Deandra Dottin, Stacy-Ann King, Merissa Aguilleira (wk), Shemaine Campbelle, Shaquana Quintyne, Anisa Mohammed, Afy Fletcher, Shamilia Connell

Shashank Kishore is a senior sub-editor at ESPNcricinfo

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Source: ESPN Crickinfo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.