England v New Zealand: T20 history

England can approach their ICC World Twenty20 semi-final versus New Zealand with confidence, having had much the better of the 13 format meetings between the teams.

The Black Caps have won just four of those but England have been victorious on eight occasions, with one no-result completing the set.

The only comfort for New Zealand is that in World Twenty20s, it is two wins each.

The first of the 13 clashes came during the original World T20 in South Africa when Daniel Vetorri’s team overcame an England attack featuring Andrew Flintoff, James Anderson and Stuart Broad.

England clearly learnt from that loss, winning the next six fixtures.

That sequence included two World T20 successes, firstly during the victorious 2010 campaign in the Caribbean led by Paul Collingwood and then two years later in Sri Lanka under Broad’s leadership.

New Zealand ended the losing run at home in 2012 but three days later England emphatically struck back with a series-clinching 10-wicket win as Alex Hales and Michael Lumb chased 140 in 12.4 overs.

Alex Hales and Michael Lumb enjoy England's 10-wicket win in February 2013, their biggest over New Zealand in terms of wickets

The Black Caps then enjoyed a brief period of success with wins either side of a washout at The Oval, the latter victory a Duckworth/Lewis result in Bangladesh at the last World T20.

The most recent meeting was England’s 56-run win at Emirates Old Trafford in June last year.

England v New Zealand, Twenty20 internationals

Sep 18 2007: NZ won by five runs, Durban

Feb 5 2008: Eng won by 32 runs, Auckland

Feb 7 2008: Eng won by 50 runs, Christchurch

Jun 13 2008: Eng won by nine wickets, Old Trafford

May 10 2010: Eng won by three wickets, St Lucia

Sep 29 2012: Eng won by six wickets, Pallekele

Feb 9 2013: Eng won by 40 runs, Auckland

Feb 12 2013: NZ won by 55 runs, Hamilton

Feb 15 2013: Eng won by 10 wickets, Wellington

Jun 25 2013: NZ won by five runs, The Oval

Jun 27 2013: no result, The Oval

Mar 22 2014: NZ won by nine runs (D/L), Chittagong

Jun 23 2015: Eng won by 56 runs, Old Trafford

Source: ECB

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.