SA bow out of WT20 with low-key victory

Toss South Africa chose to bowl v Sri Lanka
Live scorecard and ball-by-ball details

Angelo Mathews did not take the field for Sri Lanka’s final game of the World T20 © Associated Press

Faf du Plessis opted to chase in South Africa’s final match of the World T20, which they will play with Dale Steyn in the XI. Steyn was not part of the team for the last two matches but was brought back in place of Kagiso Rabada, who was rested after a long summer.

South Africa made two other changes. Farhaan Behardien made his first appearance in the tournament in place of Rilee Rossouw, while Chris Morris, who had some back stiffness, was left out for Kyle Abbott. South Africa kept both specialist spinners, Imran Tahir and Aaron Phangiso, in their attack.

Angelo Matthews, still suffering from the hamstring injury that he sustained during Sri Lanka’s defeat to England, was left out of the XI. Dinesh Chandimal took over the leadership in Mathews’ absence. Dushmantha Chameera was the other casualty from the England match. Shehan Jayasuriya replaced him, with Suranga Lakmal also included in the team.

South Africa: 1 Hashim Amla, 2 Quinton de Kock (wk), 3 Faf du Plessis (capt.), 4 AB de Villiers, 5 David Miller, 6 Farhaan Behardien, 7 David Wiese, 8 Kyle Abbott, 9 Dale Steyn 10 Aaron Phangiso, 11 Imran Tahir.

Sri Lanka: 1 Dinesh Chandimal (wk)(capt.), 2 Tillakaratne Dilshan, 3 Milinda Siriwardana, 4 Lahiru Thirimanne, 5 Chamara Kapugedara, 6 Shehan Jayasuriya, 7 Thisara Perera, 8 Dasun Shanaka, 9 Rangana Herath, 10 Jeffrey Vandersay, 11 Suranga Lakmal

Firdose Moonda is ESPNcricinfo’s South Africa correspondent

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Source: ESPN Crickinfo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.