Magical Kohli steers India into semi-finals

Toss: Australia chose to bat v India
Live scorecard and ball-by-ball details

Australia made no changes to the team that beat Pakistan © Getty Images

Steven Smith won the toss and chose to bat in Australia’s quasi quarter-final against India in Mohali.

Both captains named unchanged teams, Australia resisting the temptation to tweak their side after beating Pakistan, and India now going through the group stage with the same XI in each match.

Smith said the pitch looked good for batting but might slow up later in the game, and MS Dhoni said he too would have batted had he won the toss. “It looks like a surface that the batsmen will love,” Dhoni said. “But it depends, how well it comes off the wicket.”

Both teams had beaten Bangladesh and Pakistan, and lost to New Zealand, which made the clash a straight knockout contest. The winner will progress to the semi-final along with New Zealand.

India1 Rohit Sharma, 2 Shikhar Dhawan, 3 Virat Kohli, 4 Suresh Raina, 5 Yuvraj Singh, 6 MS Dhoni (capt & wk), 7 Hardik Pandya, 8 Ravindra Jadeja, 9 R Ashwin, 10 Jasprit Bumrah, 11 Ashish Nehra

Australia 1 Usman Khawaja, 2 Aaron Finch, 3 David Warner, 4 Steven Smith (capt), 5 Glenn Maxwell, 6 Shane Watson, 7 James Faulkner, 8 Peter Nevill (wk), 9 Adam Zampa, 10 Nathan Coulter-Nile, 11 Josh Hazlewood.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Source: ESPN Crickinfo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.