West Indies bowl; South Africa bring in Rossouw, Phangiso

Toss West Indies chose to bowl v South Africa
Live scorecard and ball-by-ball details

Play 03:15

Agarkar: SA will factor West Indies’ troubles against spin

With a semi-final spot on the line, West Indies captain Darren Sammy opted to bowl against South Africa in Nagpur, a decision he took because he did not know what to expect from the Nagpur surface.

That meant that left-arm spinner Aaron Phangiso, making his first international appearance in five months – and the first with a remodeled action – would have to wait to have a bowl. Phangiso formed part of an attack that featured two specialist spinners – a rarity in South African cricket – and only one frontline seamer. Kagiso Rabada led a pace pack that included allrounders David Wiese and Chris Morris, but did not have space for either Kyle Abbott or Dale Steyn.

South Africa also made a change in the batting line-up, after JP Duminy was ruled out with a hamstring injury. Rilee Rossouw was included to bolster the batting.

West Indies did not have any such selection conundrums. With Chris Gayle declared fit, he led the line-up. They stuck to their combination of two spinners and three seamers. The match is being played on an adjacent strip to the one used for the qualifying phase and the first match between India and New Zealand.

South Africa: 1 Quinton de Kock (wk), 2 Hashim Amla, 3 Faf du Plessis (capt), 4 AB de Villiers, 5 Rilee Rossouw 6 David Miller, 7 David Wiese, 8 Chris Morris, 9 Aaron Phangiso, 10 Kagiso Rabada 11 Imran Tahir

West Indies: 1 Chris Gayle, 2 Johnson Charles, 3 Andre Fletcher, 4 Marlon Samuels, 5 Dinesh Ramdin (wk), 6 Andre Russell, 7 Dwayne Bravo, 8 Darren Sammy (capt), 9 Carlos Brathwaite, 10 Samuel Badree, 11 Sulieman Benn

Firdose Moonda is ESPNcricinfo’s South Africa correspondent

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Source: ESPN Crickinfo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.