Australia opt to bowl; unwell Tamim ruled out

Toss Australia chose to bowl v Bangladesh
Live scorecard and ball-by-ball details

File photo – An unwell Tamim Iqbal was ruled out of the match against Australia, adding to Bangladesh’s woes © AFP

Australia’s captain Steven Smith won the toss and chose to send Bangladesh in to bat in a vital World Twenty20 fixture for both sides at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore.

Australia brought John Hastings in for Ashton Agar in the only change to the side that lost their opening match in Dharamsala, after the tour selectors Darren Lehmann and Mark Waugh decided against recalling Aaron Finch.

Bangladesh have had to cope with the loss of Taskin Ahmed and Arafat Sunny due to queries over their bowling actions. They were replaced in the squad and the XI by left-arm spinner Saqlain Sajib and offspinning allrounder Shuvagata Hom, both of whom only joined the team on Sunday night. Sajib made his international debut.

Mashrafe Mortaza’s team were also missing Tamim Iqbal due to illness, with Mohammad Mithun moving up the order to replace him. Mustafizur Rahman returned to the side after recovering from an injury he sustained during the Asia Cup last month.

Having lost their opening Super 10 matches against New Zealand and Pakistan respectively, both sides know that a second defeat in a row could almost certainly eliminate them from the tournament and, at best, leave their fate in the hands of other results elsewhere.

Australia: 1 Usman Khawaja, 2 Shane Watson, 3 Steven Smith (capt), 4 David Warner, 5 Glenn Maxwell, 6 Mitchell Marsh, 7 James Faulkner, 8 Peter Nevill (wk), 9 John Hastings, 10 Nathan Coulter-Nile, 11 Adam Zampa

Bangladesh: 1 Mohammad Mithun, 2 Soumya Sarkar, 3 Sabbir Rahman, 4 Shakib Al Hasan, 5 Mahmudullah, 6 Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), 7 Shuvagata Hom, 8 Mashrafe Mortaza (capt), 9 Saqlain Sajib, 10 Al-Amin Hossain, 11 Mustafizur Rahman

Daniel Brettig is an assistant editor at ESPNcricinfo. @danbrettig

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Source: ESPN Crickinfo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.