WI drop Taylor for Fletcher and bowl

Toss West Indies chose to bowl v Sri Lanka
Live scorecard and ball-by-ball details

File photo: Andre Fletcher was playing his first T20I since November 2015 © West Indies Cricket

A well-oiled West Indian batting machine will be chasing again in Bangalore, and there was a new cog added to it tonight. Andre Fletcher came into the XI at the expense of fast bowler Jerome Taylor.

Darren Sammy thought they had enough options in the bowling department. He, Carlos Brathwaite and Andre Russell can bowl seam up. Legspinner Samuel Badree and left-arm spinner Sulieman Benn may not like the small boundaries at the M Chinnaswamy stadium, but they will hope the pitch, which had some bare patches might help the ball turn a bit more after it gets older.

Sri Lanka captain Angelo Mathews admitted losing Lasith Malinga was a “blow,” but added that “we have what we have. We have to move on.” They were moving on with legspinner Jeffrey Vandersay, who will partner the wily Rangana Herath and allrounder Milinda Siriwardana.

Nuwan Kulasekara, Dushmantha Chameera, Mathews and Thisara Perera were Sri Lanka’s fast bowling options.

The team batting second has won 40 out of 75 T20 games in Bangalore and much will depend on the 39-year old in-form Tillakaratne Dilshan to provide a big enough total to put one over on history and a power-packed West Indies side.

West Indies 1.Chris Gayle, 2 Johnson Charles, 3 Marlon Samuels, 4 Andrew Fletcher, 5 Dwayne Bravo, 6 Andre Russell, 7 Darren Sammy, 8 Dinesh Ramdin (wk), 9 Carlos Brathwaite, 10 Samuel Badree, 11 Sulieman Benn

Sri Lanka 1.Tillakaratne Dilshan, 2 Dinesh Chandimal (wk), 3 Lahiru Thirimanne, 4 Milinda Siriwardana, 5 Angelo Mathews (capt), 6 Thisara Perera, 7 Chamara Kapugedera, 8 Shehan Jayasuriya, 9 Nuwan Kulasekara, 10 Dushmantha Chameera, 11 Rangana Herath

Alagappan Muthu is a sub-editor at ESPNcricinfo

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Source: ESPN Crickinfo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.