Shehzad returns as Pakistan bat against Bangladesh

Toss: Pakistan chose to bat v Bangladesh
Live scorecard and ball-by-ball details

Ahmed Shehzad made his return to the Pakistan T20 outfit after he was dropped for the Asia Cup © AFP

Pakistan captain Shahid Afridi decided to bat first against Bangladesh, on an Eden Gardens pitch that he felt ‘looked good’.

Afridi said they will be looking for a good performance from the batsmen, after they did well against Sri Lanka in the warm-up match in Kolkata. Mashrafe Mortaza said that he would have batted first as well.

Bangladesh remain without Mustafizur Rahman, but brought in left-arm spinner Arafat Sunny to replace Abu Hider.

Pakistan brought in Ahmed Shehzad straight into the XI after he was drafted into the squad for the World T20. They left out pace bowler Anwar Ali, batsman Khalid Latif, left-arm spinner Mohammad Nawaz and pacer Mohammad Sami.

Bangladesh, who beat Pakistan by five wickets in the recently-concluded Asia Cup, qualified for the Super 10s after topping Group A in the first round of the World T20. They remained unbeaten, beating Netherlands and Oman while the match against Ireland was washed out.

Bangladesh: 1 Tamim Iqbal, 2 Soumya Sarkar, 3 Sabbir Rahman, 4 Mushfiqur Rahim, 5 Shakib Al Hasan, 6 Mahmudullah, 7 Mohammad Mithun, 8 Mashrafe Mortaza (capt), 9 Al-Amin Hossain, 10 Arafat Sunny, 11 Taskin Ahmed

Pakistan: 1 Sharjeel Khan, 2 Ahmed Shehzad, 3 Mohammad Hafeez, 4 Sarfraz Ahmed (wk), 5 Shoaib Malik, 6 Umar Akmal, 7 Shahid Afridi (capt), 8 Imad Wasim, 9 Mohammad Amir 10 Wahab Riaz, 11 Mohammad Irfan

Mohammad Isam is ESPNcricinfo’s Bangladesh correspondent. @isam84

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Source: ESPN Crickinfo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.