Australia make four changes; Steyn back for SA

Australia decided to bowl against South Africa
Live scorecard and ball-by-ball details

Play 02:22

‘I go in the game with clear plans’ – Tahir

Australia made four changes to their team as they aim to arrest a losing streak of five T20 matches at the ground where South Africa have not lost a limited-overs match this season. Shane Watson, James Faulkner, Josh Hazlewood and Ashton Agar, who is on debut, replaced Usman Khawaja, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Andrew Tye and Adam Zampa.

On a pitch expected to be packed with runs, South Africa would also have been more comfortable chasing but Steven Smith’s decision meant they could unleash Dale Steyn immediately. Steyn was named in the XI for the first time in the more than two months in what is essentially a fitness test ahead of the World T20. His return meant Kyle Abbott was forced out of the team despite finishing as the joint-leading wicket-taker in two of South Africa’s last four series.

South Africa also made a change to their batting line-up. Farhaan Behardien was included ahead of Rilee Rossouw with Quinton de Kock keeping his place at the top of the order and Hashim Amla sitting out.

South Africa: 1 Quinton de Kock (wk), 2 AB de Villiers, 3 Faf du Plessis (capt), 4 JP Duminy, 5 David Miller, 6 Farhaan Behardien, 7 David Wiese, 8 Chris Morris, 9 Kagiso Rabada 10 Dale Steyn, 11 Imran Tahir

Australia:1 Aaron Finch, 2 Shane Watson, 3 David Warner, 4 Steve Smith (capt), 5 Glenn Maxwell, 6 Mitchell Marsh, 7 James Faulkner, 8 Peter Nevill (wk), 9 Ashton Agar, 10 John Hastings 11 Josh Hazlewood

Firdose Moonda is ESPNcricinfo’s South Africa correspondent

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Source: ESPN Crickinfo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.