Relive England's 2010 World T20 triumph

With the 2016 ICC World Twenty20 on the horizon, England head to India seeking to become the first team to win two sprint-format titles.

In the lead-up to the tournament, takes a look back at England’s 2010 triumph in the West Indies.

Group D

England v West Indies – lost by eight wickets (D/L)

Following their successful tour of Bangladesh, England set down a marker ahead of the tournament, beating South Africa and the Tigers in their warm-up matches in Barbados.

Andy Flower’s side were pitted in Group D alongside hosts West Indies and Ireland. In their opening match, England set the Windies an imposing 192 to win, with Eoin Morgan top-scoring with 55.

But rain during the interval left the Windies needing a revised target of 60 runs from six overs. Skipper Chris Gayle wasted no time as he hit a brisk 25 from 12 balls to help his side to an eight-wicket win via the Duckworth-Lewis method.

Darren Sammy celebrates the dismissal of Kevin Pietersen during the opening Group D match in Guyana

England v Ireland – No result (England qualify on superior run-rate)

With both sides suffering defeats at the hands of the hosts, both needed victory to seal their passage into the next stage.

Ireland seamers Boyd Rankin and Kevin O’Brien picked up two wickets apiece as they restricted England to 120 for eight, Morgan starring with the bat once more with 45.

This time rain would be the beneficiary for England, however, as bad weather would bring a halt to play with Ireland on 14 for one after 3.3 overs, sending them through to the Super Eights by virtue of a superior run-rate.

Current one-day and Twenty20 captain Eoin Morgan top-scores with 45 as England scrape through to the Super Eights

Super Eights

England v Pakistan – Won by six wickets

With two rain-affected matches in Guyana behind them, England looked to finally get their tournament underway after being drawn against defending champions Pakistan, New Zealand, and South Africa in Group E.

With the help of three dropped catches from Saeed Ajmal and the free-scoring of Kevin Pietersen, England stormed to a six-wicket victory in their Super-Eight opener against Pakistan in Barbados.

Chasing 148, openers Michael Lumb and Craig Kieswetter set the platform, both hitting 25, before the introduction of Pietersen – who smacked eight fours and two sixes en route to 73 not out – saw England register a first win of the tournament.

Pietersen's swashbuckling innings included eight fours and two sixes, guiding England to victory over Pakistan

England v South Africa – Won by 39 runs

Next up for Flower’s side was 2009 semi-finalists South Africa and Pietersen would star with the bat again with a 30-ball half-century

The destructive right-hander combined with Kieswetter in a 94-run stand to lift England to 168 for seven.

Spin duo Graeme Swann and Michael Yardy bamboozled the Proteas’ top order as they stumbled to 53 for five by the 10th over and, despite JP Duminy’s efforts, Ryan Sidebottom would rip through their lower order, finishing with figures of 3-23 to help England put one foot into the semi-finals.

Yorkshire seamer Ryan Sidebottom celebrates one of his three wickets as England cruise past South Africa

England v New Zealand – Won by three wickets

With Pakistan beating South Africa earlier in the day, New Zealand knew that victory would seal their place in the semi-finals.

Tim Bresnan had other ideas, however, as he turned in a match-winning performance with the ball and bat in a tense contest. Bresnan grabbed the wicket of Jesse Ryderfinishing with an impressive economy rate of five runs per over.

But a 62-run fourth-wicket stand from Ross Taylor and Scott Styris helped the Black Caps recover from 65 for three and set England a victory target of 150.

Bresnan rescued England from a middle-order collapse as his 23 not out from 11 balls saw them make it three wins from three and secure their place in the last four.

Tim Bresnan, centre, produces a man-of-the-match display with the ball and bat to clinch a semi-final berth


England v Sri Lanka – Won by seven wickets

England’s impressive run continued in the semis as they made light work of an ever-dangerous Sri Lanka side boasting the likes of the Mahela Jayawardene, Tillakaratne Dilshan and Kumar Sangakkara.

Stuart Broad, along with fellow pacemen Bresnan and Sidebottom, steamrolled through Sri Lanka’s dangerous top-order, leaving them 47 for four at one stage. Angelo Mathews’ 58 helped Sri Lanka recover to finish on a reachable 128 for six.

Pietersen would mark the birth of his son with an unbeaten 42 as England strolled into the final with a seven-wicket win.

Pietersen continues his impressive tournament as he marks the birth of his son with an unbeaten 42 to lead England into the final


England v Australia – Won by seven wickets

The final pitted cricket’s oldest rivals against each other, months before their Ashes series in Australia.

Skipper Paul Collingwood won the toss and elected to bowl and it proved to be a brilliant decision as Sidebottom’s left-arm seam-bowling reduced Australia to eight for three in the first two overs. But David and Mike Hussey would restore order to set England 148 to win.

A 111-run stand from Kieswetter and Pietersen set them on their way before Collingwood hit the winning runs to clinch a memorable triumph.

The seven-wicket victory saw England win their first ICC global title after three World Cup final defeats.

A jubilant Paul Collingwood celebrates hitting the winning runs as England claimed their first ICC global title

Source: ECB

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.