Women's World T20 past winners

With one-day and Twenty20 international series wins over South Africa under their belt, England women’s preparations have gone according to plan ahead of the fifth ICC World Twenty20 in India later this month.

England begin their search for more sprint-format success against Bangladesh in Group B, before facing India, West Indies and Pakistan.

Having tasted T20 success on home soil in 2009, can England claim their second title? Here ecb.co.uk takes a look at their previous T20 tournament showings over the years.

2009 ICC World T20 in England

The climax of the inaugural World T20 saw a repeat of the 2009 ICC one-day international World Cup final as hosts England faced New Zealand at Lords.

Both teams were undefeated coming into the final, with Claire Taylor’s match-winning 76 not out steering England to an eight-wicket victory over Australia, while the White Ferns breezed past India in the other semi-final.

Katherine Brunt stole the show as she claimed three wickets for the loss of just six runs in a devastating opening spell as New Zealand were bowled out for 85.

Tournament leading run-scorer Taylor scored 39 as the hosts claimed a comfortable six-wicket win to record their second world title in the space of four months.

England celebrate winning the first ICC World Twenty20 on home soil after beating New Zealand in the final

2010 ICC World T20 in West Indies

England failed to replicate their double World Cup success from the previous year despite going into the tournament in the West Indies as favourites. 

Drawn with hosts West Indies, South Africa and Australia in Group A, England lost their opening match in a Super-Over decider against the Southern Stars.

The defending champions were then eliminated in their must-win contest against the Windies, falling short in a two-run defeat despite Lydia Greenway’s 26 not out, as the hosts went through to the semi-finals at England’s expense.

Danielle Wyatt claimed 4-11 to help England ease past South Africa in their dead rubber to end the tournament on a high.

Australia would go onto win the first of their three World T20 titles in a pulsating three-run victory over arch-rivals New Zealand.

Charlotte Edwards, pictured, scored 31 in a losing effort against West Indies as England failed to defend their title

2012 ICC World T20 in Sri Lanka

On the back of a dominant 5-0 Twenty20 series win over West Indies, England looked to continue their impressive form in the tournament in Sri Lanka.

England got off to a flying start in Group A with 43-run and nine-wicket victories over Pakistan and India respectively.

Sarah Taylor’s 65, including eight fours, inspired England to a morale-boosting seven wicket victory over reigning champions Australia in their final group match to make it three wins from three.

It was more of the same in the semi-final, with skipper Charlotte Edwards leading from the front in their seven-wicket win over New Zealand to set-up a England-Australia final in Colombo.

With their top five batsmen reaching double figures, Australia set a challenging target of 143. England failed to sustain partnerships throughout as they fell agonisingly close, reaching 138 for nine from their 20 overs, with Australia retaining their title.

England were on the wrong end of an agonising four-run defeat against Australia in the 2012 World Twenty20 final

2014 ICC World T20 in Bangladesh

With a 2-1 Ashes series defeat behind them, England started the new 10-team tournament on a bad note, suffering a nine-run defeat in their opening Group B match against the West Indies.

But with the new format, England still had a chance of progressing into the semi-finals.

Anya Shrubsole, who starred with the ball throughout the tournament, claimed figures of 3-6 and 3-9 in wins over India and Sri Lanka.

In their convincing victory over Bangladesh, Edwards struck 11 fours as she hit 80, the highest score of the tournament, as England progressed into the semi-finals.

England and Australia looked to be on a collision course as both sides went into their respective semi-finals with identical records to top their groups– three wins and one defeat.

The two-time defending champions edged past the Windies while England cruised past South Africa, with Shrubsole claiming two wickets.

Having beaten England in the 2013 ICC ODI World Cup final, Australia stamped their authority as the best team in women’s cricket and claimed their third successive World T20 success with a six-wicket win over England in the final.

Lydia Greenway, pictured, could not prevent Australia from winning their third consecutive World Twenty20 crown, falling short in the final once again

Source: ECB

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.