Shikhar Dhawan returns as India opt to bowl

Toss India chose to bowl v Sri Lanka
Live scorecard and ball-by-ball detail

File photo – Shikhar Dhawan was back in the side after recovering from injury © BCCI

Sri Lanka were without Lasith Malinga for the second successive game, as India won the toss and chose to bowl on a Dhaka surface topped with a layer of short grass. Angelo Mathews, who stepped in as captain again, said he would have liked to bowl first as well.

Shikhar Dhawan returned to the top of India’s order after recovering from injury. He displaced Ajinkya Rahane from the XI. India were otherwise unchanged from the side that defeated Pakistan on Saturday.

Sri Lanka lost their first T20 to Bangladesh on Sunday, but opted to retain the XI from that match – Thisara Perera was given another game.

The weather is expected to remain good for the duration of the game.

India: 1 Shikhar Dhawan, 2 Rohit Sharma, 3 Virat Kohli, 4 Suresh Raina, 5 Yuvraj Singh, 6 MS Dhoni (wk & capt), 7 Hardik Pandya, 8 Ravindra Jadeja, 9 R Aswhin, 10 Ashish Nehra, 11 Jasprit Bumrah

Sri Lanka: 1 Dinesh Chandimal (wk), 2 Tillakaratne Dilshan, 3 Milinda Siriwardana, 4 Dasun Shanaka, 5 Angelo Mathews (capt.), 6 Chamara Kapugedera, 7 Shehan Jayasuriya, 8 Thisara Perera, 9 Nuwan Kulasekara, 10 Rangana Herath, 11 Dushmantha Chameera

Andrew Fidel Fernando is ESPNcricinfo’s Sri Lanka correspondent. @andrewffernando

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Source: ESPN Crickinfo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.