Hong Kong opt to bat in must-win encounter

Toss: Hong Kong chose to bat v United Arab Emirates
Live scorecard and ball-by-ball details

File photo – Babar Hayat will be looking to reproduce the sparkling form he displayed in the first match © ICC/Sportsfile

Hong Kong’s captain Tanwir Afzal won the toss and chose to bat in their must-win game against United Arab Emirates in Fatullah.

UAE made just one change to the side that beat Afghanistan in the first match. Batsman Saqlain Haider, who once kept wicket for Australia in a tour match, replaced Usman Mushtaq in a like-for-like swap. Hong Kong fielded an unchanged side,

Hong Kong, who lost their tournament opener against Oman, will miss out on qualification if they lose this game. UAE won their first match and a win will push them closer to a spot in the main competition.

Hong Kong: 1 Anshuman Rath, 2 Kinchit Shah, 3 Babar Hayat, 4 Mark Chapman, 5 Nizakat Khan, 6 Tanwir Afzal (capt), 7 Aizaz Khan, 8 Waqas Khan, 9 Haseeb Amjad, 10 Christopher Carter (wk), 11 Nadeem Ahmed

UAE: 1 Rohan Mustafa, 2 Muhammad Kaleem, 3 Shaiman Anwar, 4 Amjad Javed (capt), 5 Muhammad Usman, 6 Mohammad Shahzad, 7 Saqlain Haider, 8 Ahmed Raza, 9 Swapnil Patil (wk), 10 Farhan Ahmed, 11 Mohammad Naveed

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Source: ESPN Crickinfo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.