Oman choose to bat on Asia Cup debut

Toss: Oman chose to bat v Hong Kong
Live scorecard and ball-by-ball details

File photo – Mark Chapman could play an important role in Hong Kong’s chase © ICC/Sportsfile

Sultan Ahmed, the Oman captain, chose to bat first against Hong Kong at the Khan Shaheb Osman Ali Outer Stadium. Oman were making their debut in the Asia Cup, while Hong Kong had featured in the 2004 and 2008 editions of the tournament.

Earlier, the opening day got off to a sensational start, when UAE beat favourites Afghanistan by 16 runs. The result, which leaves the qualifying group wide open, is sure to have caught the attention of Oman and Hong Kong as well.

Oman: 1 Zeeshan Maqsood, 2 Jatinder Singh, 3 Sultan Ahmed (capt & wk), 4 Amir Ali, 5 Ajay Lalcheta, 6 Munis Ansari, 7 Aamir Kaleem, 8 Adnan Ilyas, 9 Bilal Khan, 10 Mehran Khan, 11 Vaibhav Wategaonkar

Hong Kong: 1 Tanwir Afzal (capt), 2 Mark Chapman, 3 Christopher Carter (wk), 4 Anshuman Rath, 5 Kinchit Shah, 6 Babar Hayat, 7 Haseeb Amjad, 8 Nizakat Khan, 9 Nadeem Ahmed, 10 Waqas Khan, 11 Aizaz Khan

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Source: ESPN Crickinfo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *