New Zealand sent in after naming four quicks

Toss Australia chose to field v New Zealand
Live scorecard and ball-by-ball details

Brendon McCullum lost his final toss as New Zealand captain © Getty Images

Australia’s captain Steven Smith won the toss and chose to bowl first against New Zealand in the second Test at Hagley Oval in Christchurch.

Brendon McCullum leads his side for the final time and will hope the home batsmen can fare better than they did on the first day of the Wellington Test.

New Zealand made two changes to their side, bringing in Matt Henry and Neil Wagner for Doug Bracewell (injured) and Mark Craig (dropped).

Australia made one change to their victorious Wellington combination, a back injury ruling out Peter Siddle and forcing his replacement by James Pattinson.

The pitch at Hagley Oval has a thick mat of grass and can be expected to provide plenty of assistance for the pacemen on a fine morning in Christchurch.

New Zealand 1 Martin Guptill, 2 Tom Latham, 3 Kane Williamson, 4 Henry Nicholls, 5 Brendon McCullum (capt), 6 Corey Anderson, 7 BJ Watling (wk), 8 Matt Henry, 9 Tim Southee, 10 Neil Wagner, 11 Trent Boult

Australia 1 David Warner, 2 Joe Burns, 3 Usman Khawaja, 4 Steven Smith (capt), 5 Adam Voges, 6 Mitchell Marsh, 7 Peter Nevill (wk), 8 James Pattinson, 9 Josh Hazlewood, 10 Nathan Lyon, 11 Jackson Bird

Daniel Brettig is an assistant editor at ESPNcricinfo. @danbrettig

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Source: ESPN Crickinfo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.