Suryakumar-Tare stand deflates Madhya Pradesh

Suryakumar Yadav hit 18 fours and a six in his unbeaten 97 as Mumbai extended their domination over Madhya Pradesh © Fotocorp

Suryakumar Yadav and Aditya Tare stamped their authority over Madhya Pradesh in Cuttack as Mumbai had one foot in the door of the Ranji Trophy final.

Mumbai, who took a 144-run early on Day 3, pressed forward courtesy an unbroken fourth-wicket stand of 190 between Suryakumar (97 not out) and Tare (90 not out) to end the day on 285 for 3, thereby opening up a lead of 429.

MP’s hopes of eating into a deficit that stood at 174 were hinged on Naman Ojha, but his dismissal on his overnight score of 79 to Abhishek Nayar put paid to those hopes. MP, resuming on 197 for 5, were bowled out for 227, with Balwinder Sandhu, the medium pacer, who picked up three wickets in the morning finished with 5 for 53.

Mumbai started shakily in their second innings as Akhil Herwadkar fell for a three-ball duck to Ishwar Pandey. But Bhavin Thakkar and Shreyas Iyer built the lead with an 85-run stand; Iyer doing bulk of the scoring in his 46-ball 58 before falling to Puneet Datey.

The wicket of Thakkar shortly after, gave MP lift, but it was all too brief as Mumbai’s current and former captain stamped their authority to put Mumbai within touching distance of a place in the final for the first time in three seasons.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Source: ESPN Crickinfo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *