Ashwin's 4 for 8 gives India series

India chose to bowl v Sri Lanka
Live scorecard and ball-by-ball details

Dushmantha Chameera might have to contend with dew when he bowls © BCCI

MS Dhoni retained the XI for a third straight match, and by electing to bowl first, he put the onus of bowling in the dew on Sri Lanka’s bowlers. When Sri Lanka played the dew similarly in Ranchi, they actually gave themselves the rough end of a slow and low surface. This pitch in Visakhapatnam, though, looked flat and was not expected to change in nature.

Sri Lanka made three changes, one of them thanks to an injury to Chamara Kapugedera. Man of the Match from Pune, Kasun Rajitha, and Danushka Gunathilaka were the others left out. Niroshan Dickwella came back at the top of the order, which will relieve Diniesh Chamdimal of the wicketkeeping gloves. Right-hand batsman Asela Gunaratne made his international debut, but the biggest news was the final change. For the first time since July 2012, Dilhara Fernando was back to play for Sri Lanka.

T20I’s No. 1 ranking was on the line in this series decider.

India 1 Rohit Sharma, 2 Shikhar Dhawan, 3 Ajinkya Rahane, 4 Suresh Raina, 5 MS Dhoni (capt. & wk), 6 Yuvraj Singh, 7 Hardik Pandya, 8 Ravindra Jadeja, 9 R Ashwin, 10 Jasprit Bumrah, 11 Ashish Nehra

Sri Lanka 1 Niroshan Dickwella, 2 Tillakaratne Dilshan, 3 Dinesh Chandimal (capt.& wk), 4 Asela Gunaratne, 5 Dasun Shanaka, 6 Milinda Siriwardana, 7 Seekugge Prasanna, 8 Thisara Perera, 9 Sachithra Senanayake, 10 Dushmantha Chameera, 11 Dilhara Fernando

Sidharth Monga is an assistant editor at ESPNcricinfo

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Source: ESPN Crickinfo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.