Under-19 World Cup: Zeeshan Malik, Saif Badar Help Pakistan Finish Fifth, Afghanistan Win Plate Championship

Pakistan Under-19 players celebrate after a fall of a wicket.


Fatullah: Pakistan ended their campaign in the ICC Under-19 World Cup on a winning note, defeating England by seven wickets to finish fifth in the 16-nation tournament in Fatullah. (Read More in Cricket)

England scored 264 for seven after being sent in to bat with Sam Curran making 83 (107b, 11×4) and Tom Moores contributing 47. Seamer Sameen Gul took two wickets for 42 runs and Saif Ali snapped up two for 37.

Opener Zeeshan Malik led Pakistan’s charge with 93 (105b, 15×4), before Saif Badar and Hasan Mohsin clinched an emphatic victory with an unbeaten stand of 67 for the fourth wicket.

Saif was unbeaten on 75 (80b, 5×4, 3×6) and the impressive Mohsin made 39 not out as Pakistan won in the 44th over.

Afghanistan won the Plate Championship and claimed the ninth position by defeating Zimbabwe by five wickets in Cox’s Bazar.

Afghanistan player celebrate after winning the ICC Under-19 Plate Final against Zimbabwe.


Zimbabwe Win Plate Championship

Chasing Zimbabwe’s 216 for nine, the Afghans slipped to 123 for five in the 31st over before Tariq Stanikzai and Rashid Khan turned the game around with an unbroken stand of 95 for the sixth wicket.

Stanikzai returned unbeaten on 106 (142b, 10×4, 2×6) with Rashid making 55 not out (50b, 5×4, 2×6). For Zimbabwe, Jeremy Ives took two wickets for 36 runs.

The tournament’s defending champions, South Africa, who failed to make the Super League, finished 11th with a 138-run win over New Zealand in Cox’s Bazar.

Dean Foxcroft hit 117 (137b, 13×4, 1×6), Rivaldo Moonsamy made 51 (43b 3×4, 3×6) and Wandile Makwetu scored an unbeaten 24-ball 50 with seven fours and two sixes as South Africa piled up 288 for six after being sent in to bat.

New Zealand were shot out for 150 in reply with Finn Allen top-scoring with 40. Wiaan Mulder claimed four wickets for 14 runs and Ziyaad Abrahams took two for 37.

Source: NDTV

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *