Siriwardene returns to lead SL Women in World T20

Shashikala Siriwardene was injured during Sri Lanka Women’s New Zealand tour © BCCI

Shashikala Siriwardene will lead Sri Lanka Women in the Women’s World Twenty20 and the preceding limited-overs tour of India, which starts from February 15. Siriwardene injured her thumb during the side’s tour of New Zealand in November last year and missed two ODIs as well as the T20I series on the tour.

The squad for India includes uncapped allrounders Hansima Karunaratne and Harshitha Madavi, although the latter will only join the squad for the Women’s World T20, which starts on March 15. The experienced trio of allrounder Eshani Lokusuriyage, batsman Yasoda Mendis and left-arm medium-pacer Udeshika Prabodhani have made their way back to the side after missing the New Zealand series.

Achini Kulasuriya, Chamari Polgampola, Hasini Perera, Maduri Samuddika, Anushka Sanjeewani, who had a disappointing tour of New Zealand, were left out.

Sri Lanka’s series against India comprises three ODIs and as many T20Is, which will be played in Ranchi between February 15 and February 26. Sri Lanka have been slotted in Group A of the 10-team Women’s World T20, alongside Australia, South Africa, New Zealand and Ireland. Their World T20 campaign kicks off against New Zealand on March 15. The top two teams from the group will progress to the semi-final stage.

Apart from the World T20, Sri Lanka will also look to improve their ranking in the ICC Women’s Championship in the ODI series against India, after suffering a 5-0 defeat in New Zealand. They are currently at the bottom of the league table with two wins in 12 matches.

Sri Lanka squad: Shashikala Siriwardene (capt), Chamari Atapattu, Yasoda Mendis, Oshadi Ranasinghe, Dilani Manodara, Prasadani Weerakkody, Ama Kanchana, Eshani Lokusuriyage, Udeshika Prabodhani, Inoka Ranaweera, Sugandika Kumari, Nilakshi de Silva, Hansima Karunaratne, Nipuni Hansika, Harshitha Madavi*
*Harshitha Madavi will join the team only for the Women’s World T20.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Source: ESPN Crickinfo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.