Lord's to Host Women's World Cup Final in 2017

Floodlights Lords
The Lord’s will host the 2017 Women’s World Cup final on July 23.



The Lord’s will host the final of the Women’s Cricket World Cup in 2017, the International Cricket Council (ICC) said on Monday. Derbyshire, Gloucestershire, Leicestershire, Somerset and Lord’s in London will host the matches from June 26 to July 23. (Read more cricket stories here)

The 28-day tournament will feature 31 games. Eight teams will participate in a single-league format with each side playing the other once. The top four sides following the conclusion of the league matches will progress to the semi-finals with the winners facing off on July 23.

It will be the first time the tournament will be held in England since 1993 when the home side beat New Zealand in the final at Lord’s.

Australia are the current holders having beaten West Indies in the 2013 edition in India.

“In this country, last summer’s record-breaking attendances for the Women’s Ashes series showed there is a growing audience and appetite for women’s cricket – we witnessed excellent crowds, including full houses at Chelmsford and Hove, coupled with growing media and commercial interest,” Clare Connor, the ICC women’s cricket committee’s chairwoman said in a statement.

Source: NDTV

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.