Batsmen, Pandey seal MP's semi-final spot with huge win

Madhya Pradesh 348 (Shrivastava 65, Ojha 64, Bundela 58, Harpreet 51, VP Singh 5-76) and 560 for 9 dec (Harpreet 139, Patidar 137, Bundela 72, Dane 69, Ojha 52) beat Bengal 121 (Easwaran 48, Pandey 4-45) and 432 (Tiwary 124, Shaw 118, Pandey 4-93) by 355 runs

File photo – Ishwar Pandey finished with match figures of 8 for 138 © ESPNcricinfo Ltd

Centuries by Rajat Patidar and Harpreet Singh in the second innings and Ishwar Pandey‘s match-haul of eight wickets helped Madhya Pradesh seal a spot in 2015-16 Ranji Trophy semi-final with a colossal 355-run win over Bengal. In the improbable task of chasing down 788 in the final innings, Bengal’s Manoj Tiwary and Pankaj Shaw struck fighting hundreds, but it was not enough as their side folded for 432 on the final day.

Coming in with the score at 69 for 2, captain Tiwary took 160 balls to score his 124 that included 14 fours and three sixes. His innings saw Bengal past 250 before he was the sixth man to fall. Tiwary shared a sixth-wicket stand of 108 with Shaw, who scored his maiden first-class century. Shaw carried on after Tiwary fell, stroking 13 fours and four sixes in his 137-ball 118. He also built lower order partnerships of 58 and 78 with Pragyan Ojha and Ashok Dinda (52) respectively. Pandey and Chandrakant Sakure led the charge for MP’s bowlers, picking match-hauls of 8 for 138 and 6 for 152 respectively.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Source: ESPN Crickinfo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *