Australia make three changes, NZ bat

Toss New Zealand chose to bat v Australia
Live scorecard and ball-by-ball details

Usman Khawaja was named in Australia’s XI after carrying drinks in Auckland © Getty Images

New Zealand captain Brendon McCullum won the toss and chose to bat first against Australia in the second Chappell-Hadlee ODI at Westpac Stadium in Wellington.

Australia made three changes to the team that was given a hiding at Eden Park, dropping Shaun Marsh for Usman Khawaja, while Scott Boland came in for Kane Richardson due to some back soreness, and the debutant Adam Zampa came into the side in place of the injured James Faulkner. Zampa had his ODI cap presented to him by Allan Border.

New Zealand, by contrast, were unchanged, in a match where they can complete a series victory over Australia for the first time since 2007.

The pitch is firm and the weather is pleasant, with plenty of runs in prospect for the afternoon.

New Zealand 1 Martin Guptill, 2 Brendon McCullum (capt.), 3 Kane Williamson, 4 Henry Nicholls, 5 Grant Elliott, 6 Corey Anderson, 7 Luke Ronchi (wk), 8 Mitchell Santner, 9 Adam Milne, 10 Matt Henry, 11 Trent Boult.

Australia 1 Usman Khawaja, 2 David Warner, 3 Steven Smith (capt.), 4 George Bailey, 5 Glenn Maxwell, 6 Mitchell Marsh, 7 Matthew Wade (wk), 8 John Hastings, 9 Adam Zampa, 10 Scott Boland, 11 Josh Hazlewood.

Daniel Brettig is an assistant editor at ESPNcricinfo. @danbrettig

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Source: ESPN Crickinfo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.