Unchanged New Zealand sent in to bat

Toss Australia chose to field v New Zealand
Live scorecard and ball-by-ball details

Play 03:07

Australia quicks look forward to NZ pitches

Steven Smith won the toss in the first ODI against New Zealand and chose to continue the tactic that worked for Australia during their recent series at home against India by sending the opposition in to bat.

New Zealand named an unchanged side from the one that beat Pakistan in the final ODI at the same ground on Sunday, with legspinner Ish Sodhi overlooked despite being added to the squad specifically for this game. Australia had named their team on match eve and there were no late surprises.

The teams were set to play on the same pitch as Sunday’s ODI, and New Zealand’s captain Brendon McCullum said the fact they were playing on a used wicket meant he would have batted in any case.

New Zealand 1 Martin Guptill, 2 Brendon McCullum (capt.), 3 Kane Williamson, 4 Henry Nicholls, 5 Grant Elliott, 6 Corey Anderson, 7 Luke Ronchi (wk), 8 Mitchell Santner, 9 Adam Milne, 10 Matt Henry, 11 Trent Boult.

Australia 1 Shaun Marsh, 2 David Warner, 3 Steven Smith (capt.), 4 George Bailey, 5 Glenn Maxwell, 6 Mitchell Marsh, 7 Matthew Wade (wk), 8 James Faulkner, 9 John Hastings, 10 Kane Richardson, 11 Josh Hazlewood.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Source: ESPN Crickinfo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *