Roy passed fit as England bat first

England won the toss and chose to bat v South Africa
Live Scorecard and ball-by-ball details

Play 01:41

‘It is a completely new look team’ – Morgan

David Miller was the man to miss out in South Africa’s opening ODI against England. Miller has not scored a half-century in his last 16 innings since the World Cup almost a year ago and had to make way for Rilee Rossouw, who has returned to the side after missing the India series with injury.

South Africa’s top four was familiar with Quinton de Kock partnering Hashim Amla at the top and captain AB de Villiers in at No.4. JP Duminy was preferred over Miller with Rossouw slotting in lower down.

Farhaan Behardien and Chris Morris occupy the allrounder slots and will form part of a three-pronged pace attack with Morne Morkel and Marchant de Lange, who makes his return after last playing an ODI in January 2015. Kagiso Rabada was rested while Imran Tahir was recalled as the specialist spinner.

The attack would be in action early after Eoin Morgan chose to bat first on what is traditionally a flat surface in Bloemfontein. England’s opener Jason Roy recovered from a back spasm to take his place in a line-up filled with faces that will be unfamiliar to South African fans.

Only three of the team that played in the Tests are are in the ODI XI – compared with seven from South Africa – and England’s attack includes two left-armers to bowl alongside Chris Jordan, two spinners and the allrounder, Ben Stokes.

South Africa 1 Hashim Amla, 2 Quinton de Kock (wk), 3 Faf du Plessis, 4 AB de Villiers (capt), 5 JP Duminy, 6 Rilee Rossouw, 7 Farhaan Behardien, 8 Chris Morris, 9 Morne Morkel, 10 Marchant de Lange, 11 Imran Tahir

England 1 Jason Roy, 2 Alex Hales, 3 Joe Root, 4 Eoin Morgan (capt), 5 Ben Stokes, 6 Jos Buttler (wk), 7 Moeen Ali, 8 Chris Jordan, 9 David Willey, 10 Adil Rashid, 11 Reece Topley

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Source: ESPN Crickinfo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *