Shane Watson to Lead Australia in Final T20I vs India

Shane Watson Adelaide 2601
Shane Watson is the ninth player to lead Australia in T20Is.


Shane Watson will captain Australia in the final T20I against India at the Sydney Cricket Ground on Sunday.

Watson takes over for Aaron Finch who damaged his left hamstring during the 27-run loss in Melbourne on Friday.

His appointment as skipper followed a recommendation by the National Selection Panel which was approved by Cricket Australia’s Board of Directors.

“It is an honour to be asked to lead the side on Sunday, although the circumstances are far from ideal,” said the 34-year-old all-rounder according to an official release.

Watson was confident that Australia would come out all guns blazing in the final match depite havng lost the series.

“We may have lost the series but there is a great deal to play for with the ICC World Twenty20 coming up and you can be sure we will be determined to do well in Sydney,” he said.

Usman Khawaja replaces Finch in the squad for Sunday’s game. He has also been drafted in to the ODI squad for the series in New Zealand.

Watson is Australia’s second most experienced T20I player with 51 caps; only David Warner (54) has appeared more often for Australia in the shortest form of the game.

He will be the ninth player to lead Australia in T20Is.

He has previously captained his country in one Test and nine One-Day Internationals in 2012 and 2013.

The 34 year-old all-rounder is Australia’s leading wicket-taker in the T20I format with 41 victims and his tally of 1191 runs is second only to Warner’s haul of 1465 for his country.

The captain for the ICC World Twenty20 in India in March will be named when the squad is announced in February.

The squad for the final match:

Shane Watson (captain), Cameron Bancroft, Scott Boland, Cameron Boyce, James Faulkner, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Nathan Lyon, Chris Lynn, Shaun Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Shaun Tait, Andrew Tye.

Source: NDTV

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.